09
Nov
10

Bored yet excited

Bored cause what did i do over the weekend? NOTHING, played some games and thats about it. Excited, why? no not because i struck lottery, fuck i wish i did. one powerball and i am out of here. Excited cause i am going back to singapore.  IN MARCH!!! i know i know, still a long way to go but fuck, at least its still something to look forward to.  Normally i would stay with my sister but since she moved in with her in law, I find it inappropriate to stay there for too many days. I like to spend some time with my sister though so i m dedicating the first 2 days with her 🙂

I m staying in goodwood park hotel.  I was deciding between pan pacific or goodwood since their price are roughly the same, goodwood slightly cheaper but i decided to go with goodwood for various reason.

1 is location; secondly is i see this hotel all the time when we go into orchard and also they won the christmas lighting quite a few times in the past. So its a hotel that I know and yet do not know but it is definitely a iconic place for me. I always keep a look out for this hotel in the past when i took the bus into orchard cause that would meant I am close to my destination.

I have been back singapore for a brief 1 or 2 days last year but this trip it feels like i  am going back for a actually holiday. Eating, shopping and going places I have not been before. I know its hard to believe since I live in sg for 15 years but there are alot of place I have yet to visit.

Honestly singapore is a place you love and hate. I hate sg because of its people.  Contractive right? I am afterall singaporean as well but singapore is such a competitive place, competitive but not in a good way. Competitive because every tom dick and harry is like trying to judge you, see who drives a nicer car, nicer condo, how much u earn, your wife etc. FUCK THAT.  They have eyes so high above their forehead you would think they are checking out their dick sticking out of their head.

Secondly, their language. I can’t stop emphazing this. SINGLIST IS NOT COOL, stop promoting it. So many people are so proud of their singlish they don’t hear themself at times. It seriously annoys the crap outta me.  I recall hearing a conversation between 2 sg  which goes something like this.

Sg1; real  ly? don’t bei deh lah

Sg2: he told me want but i also not sure true or not?

Sg1: aiyo, if real    ly   like that, den he steady lah.

My god. I feel like turning around and slap them.  Yes, people say its part of their culture but there is good culture and there is bad culture. Its like whats the typical stereotype impression sg girls thinks of china girls?  well, alot of things they do are part of their culture which may gives others a bad impression. likewise singlish culture gives others a “dumb fuck impression”

Do you know why the government was promoting “speak more mandarin”? Thats because even the government can’t stand hearing singlish everywhere. Either you speak proper english or you fucking go speak mandarin.

 

5 Responses to “Bored yet excited”


  1. 1 Seeprompt
    November 11, 2010 at 4:48 am

    Just after I was born, my parents stop using the Hokkien dialect and switched to Mandarin during conversations at home. I believe it was because of the Speak Mandarin (not dialect) campaign. Today I struggle to use Hokkien and I feel left out whenever my buddies start using my dialect to converse with each other.

    I am a supporter of the Speak Singlish movement. I view Singlish as a means to connect with my peers during casual conversation. Subsequently, I make it a point to switch to “business” English as and when I need to. I do not feel ashamed or proud of Singlish. It is something that just feels plainly normal and common. It is similar to how I feel about my skin colour too 🙂

    And lastly, from my personal observation, students (and even working adults) are able to “code-switch” from proper English and Singlish when needed. Don’t take my word, I suggest you go and attend any local school presentation and check it out for yourself. Go and read the write ups of an average student in that school. Next, just sit in during recess time and listen to the way the students talk to each other. I believe you will notice a difference too.

    P.S. As with Hokkien dialect (including Cantonese, Hakka, Teochew and others that I am unaware of) is not removed from being used in Singapore, I suspect Singlish is gonna stay too.

  2. 2 Elizabeth
    November 11, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    I suggest that before criticizing Singlish, you should first improve on your grammar and spelling of Standard English. And your punctuation as well.

  3. 3 teapls
    November 12, 2010 at 8:46 am

    Seeprompt, that is true, I have met people who are able to switch between speaking fluent english and singlish and no doubt there are singaporean who are great with english. It is only when singlish becomes our main stream way of conversation that in my opinion causes an issue.

    Before I move to perth, I have always felt normal, fitted in well with the society but once I moved to perth, I realised how many people ridicule our singlish. Even educated mainlander speaks better english then most singaporeans because singlish has been embedded deep in our roots it can be hard to change.

    Elizabeth, I apologize if I had hit a soft spot but this is only my opinion. Yes my english is no doubt bad and yes my punctuation is horrible and that is why I don’t write for a living 🙂

    I am not saying that singaporeans can’t write well, I am sure you can. I can just saying singaporean(with singlish background) can’t speak well and perhaps you don’t realise it but alot of people actually make fun of us. if you prefer your boofet to buffet, your stallbely to your strawberries, your how ah and your ya lor and leh, by all means don’t stop 🙂

  4. 4 Seeprompt
    November 12, 2010 at 9:11 am

    I personally do not know what it feels like to stay in Perth, Australia. However I do know that racism can be found anywhere, including Australia and Singapore. If discrimination is part of being a racist, giving a bad label to a large group of people solely based on their language proficiency does ring some alarm bells, ya?

  5. 5 TooFatForU
    November 13, 2010 at 2:48 pm

    Born and breed in Singapore, I can’t even order a cup of latte without repeating myself several times when I was in NY. Several of my colleage experience this over in foreign land. Our education in NTU and NUS has failed us


Leave a Reply

Recent migration to wordpress from blogspot the original blog can still be found at teapls.blogspot.com I have link all image sources on the image itself I will always reference my source whenever possible but with so many images floating around the net, it is pretty hard to identify which image belongs to who. If I have not given the source proper credit, inform me and i will correct it immediately

Calendar

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Category

Email Subscription to teapls


