04
Aug
09

iphone 3.01 patch

iPhone_Software_Update

So what is this SMS vulnerability?

http://news.cnet.com/8301-27080_3-10299378-245.html

LAS VEGAS–Researchers have discovered a way to take complete control over an iPhone merely by sending special SMS messages and demonstrated it on my iPhone at the Black Hat security conference on Wednesday.

Although an attacker could exploit the hole to make calls, steal data, send text messages, and do basically anything that I can do with my iPhone, the researchers were kind and merely rendered it temporarily inoperable.

Here’s what happened: While I was talking on the phone to Charlie Miller, his partner, Collin Mulliner, sent me a text message from his phone. One minute I’m talking to Miller and the next minute my phone is dead, and this time it’s not AT&T’s fault. After a few seconds it came back to life, but I was not able to make or receive calls until I rebooted.

My iPhone is not jailbroken and it is running iPhone OS 3.0.

The attack is enabled by a serious memory corruption bug in the way the iPhone handles SMS messages, said Miller, a senior security researcher at Independent Security Evaluators.

There is no patch, despite the fact that Apple was notified of the problem about six weeks ago, he said. All current versions of the iPhone operating system are affected.

I have yet to patch my iphone cause i have been too lazy + busy studying. contradictive hey?  🙂  …. probably I should do it real soon but I just can’t see a reason for anyone to want to hack into my phone. well.. not at this point anyway. If you are wondering what should be used to jailbreak a iphone with patch 3.01, use redsnow and avoid purplera1n at all cost.

Since everyone of you are so caring about me, i am sure you will want to know how i flare for part one of my SCEA exam. 93% 🙂 hehehe.. yes yes.. i know.. congras to me..

0 Responses to “iphone 3.01 patch”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Recent migration to wordpress from blogspot the original blog can still be found at teapls.blogspot.com I have link all image sources on the image itself I will always reference my source whenever possible but with so many images floating around the net, it is pretty hard to identify which image belongs to who. If I have not given the source proper credit, inform me and i will correct it immediately

Calendar

August 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Category

Email Subscription to teapls


